Skip to content

CMN member colleges honoured

June 20, 2011

Congratulations to CMN member colleges recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours this year. Two principals led the way, with Debbie Lavin of Isle of Wight Collegeand Ian Pryce of Bedford College both appointed CBE. 

Isle of Wight College has become “outstanding”, making “exceptional progress” over seven years under Ms Lavin’s leadership. It’s recently undergone an £83million redevelopment including a purpose-built sixth form which has added A-levels to the curriculum offer. 

Bedford College has trebled its students and staffing over twelve years and is now in the top 5% of colleges for pass rates. 

West Suffolk College Principal Ann Williams was appointed OBE as was Kevin Henry, former Chair of Governors at CroydonCollege. 

Senior advanced skills practitioner at Oaklands College Sarah Moreland was appointed MBE, as were Jean Hardy, Chair of Governors at West Nottinghamshire College, Sheila Maeve, Clerk to the Corporation at Westminster Kingsway College, John Marston, governor at Ealing, Hammersmith & West London Collegeand Joyce Amato, European co-ordinator at Newham College.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: